Yangjiang 3 is the latest Chinese nuclear power reactor to see the emplacement of its containment dome.

China Guangdong Nuclear Power Corporation (CGNPC) reported the major lift, which took took only 76 minutes to carry out, on 9 June. The company is leading the construction of the Yangjiang plant, which is planned to eventually feature six reactors using the CPR-1000 technology. It will be operated by the Daya Bay Nuclear Power Operations and Management Company — a joint venture with Hong Kong’s China Light and Power. The company already manages the Daya Bay, Ling Ao and Ling Ao Phase II nuclear power plants.

Construction at Yangjiang began with unit 1 in December 2008. Work at unit 2 was started in August 2009 and at unit 3 in November 2010. Construction of unit 4 was meant to have started in early 2011, but this was suspended pending the results of a post-Fukushima analysis by Chinese safety authorities. Two further units are planned for Yangjiang but their schedules have also been subject to review.

Units 1, 2 and 3 are slated to begin commercial operation in 2013, 2014 and 2015, respectively.

Construction projects already underway should see China bring online some 27 new reactors by the end of 2015 — in addition to the 15 units currently in operation.

Вернуться ко всем новостям